Skip to content

A GM Summer Uptzdate

Wednesday July 19, 2006

Just when we were beginning to think that Maximum Bob may have given-up on the whole blogging thing, he returns with a nice little update on what’s going on over in the General’s quarters. With nearly a month since his last post and only two posts since mid May, he finally takes some time from his apparently busy schedule to give us a bit of a heads-up on what’s to come.

Apparently he’s been doing a lot of business related traveling in the last months, for reasons that he says he cannot talk about quite yet. all he mentions is that he went to Germany to meet with a product development team and that “some very exciting things are happening there”, so one could assume (and/or hope) that they’ve got something big in the works.

Quite a surprising twist in this latest post of his, however, is that he addresses the concerns of someone who had previously posted comments on the site. This individual expressed disgust in the current GM line.

As a matter of fact, here is the post in question:

Hi Bob:

I am 45 and my wife and I have 4 kids. We are looking for a new vehicle and over the last few weeks have started the search.

I am proud to say that I once worked for Bethlehem Steel in Lackawanna, NY in the Coke Ovens. I have strained to always by US vehicles from US companies and have held true to that to this day. I recall to this day seeing the last Ore Ship come into “big steel” on the shore of Lake Erie at 3 am on a warm July morning and shed a tear as the crew waved goodbye as she slipped out the next day.

I am shedding tears again. My 13 year old son saw me cry for the first time last night as we compared Toyota and Honda to GM products

Their is no real comparison. I almost bought a Honda last night and that’s when I started to cry in the dealership and could not collect myself until we got home.

The people at Honda and other customers looked at me like I was nuts. They don’t understand
At the Chevy dealer, I could have fired a cannon and no one would have heard it go off. At the Buick dealer, the sales people were running out the door 30 minutes early and didn’t have time for me.

When people like me start to bolt away from US manufacturers, you’re done

I can’t even find a good excuse to buy a GM…0 % financing does not make up for failed quality and pricing that is too high

I could not sleep last nite. I saw the faces of the guys who were walking dead men in the Coke ovens who after 30 years of chemical baths everyday were essentially dead men walking

It’s haunting…yet right now, I am going our Saturday and buying the Honda…why shouldn’t I….I’ll take any answer from anyone out there…give me a REASON, not an EXCUSE.

While I do not agree with everything he says, this speaks a lot of the problem that they face today with the perception that a lot of people have of American cars in general. I don’t agree that there really is a quality problem anymore, but it’sw easy to see that there may be a problem with giving consumers what they truly want. I believe the real problem is that they have somewhat lost touch with the real world and only think dollars, rather than happy customers and the art of building cars; Though I also feel the same could be said about the average consumer, who seems to only think perception, preconceived notions and that status that our possessions seem to bring us. Anyway, that’s another story for another time…

Even more shocking than Dan’s comments or the fact that Lutz brings it up, is his reaction to these comments and his actual reply, which he includes at the end of his post:

Dan, I know that my staff has contacted you, but I feel compelled to let you know that I personally appreciate your loyalty and the emotional connection to the American auto industry you have demonstrated. I truly believe if you take a look at the Saturn Aura, you will find exactly what you need. Or, if you can hold off until the Saturn Outlook is launched, you can get one of the best-executed seven- to eight-passenger crossovers on the planet, and bypass the minivans you wish to avoid.

As for your comments about the cars you saw in our dealerships, the Pontiac G6 is one of the highest quality cars available, and it’s routinely at the top of independent owner satisfaction rankings. If the “torque steer” on the V8 Impala is objectionable, try the very harmonious and economical V6 model. Either way, I respectfully disagree with your assessment of Impala’s “cheap controls” — those knobs and switches match the best from Germany or Japan, in my opinion. But don’t just take my word for any of this; go to Edmunds.com and read some of their readers’ experiences, especially those posted by owners of the Buick Lucerne vs. owners of the Toyota Avalon.

Whatever you decide, I thank you for your consideration, and for the depth of your affection for GM and the domestic industry. I hope we can provide the vehicle you need.

I find it impressive that he personally addresses the guy’s concerns and genuinely tries to show him that he has nothing to worry about and that, despite what he may believe, they’re on their way back to days similar to that of their glorious past, albeit with a smaller share of the market and possibly not with the title of “Biggest Automaker in the World”.

What do I have to say to all of this? Keep it up Bob! Oh, and could you try and talk some sense into anyone that supports the idea of an alliance with Nissan-Renault?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amore permalink
    Friday December 8, 2006 4:27 am

    Luogo interessante, buon disegno, lo gradisco, signore! =)

Leave a Reply

