Skip to content

Toyota Delays Models Due to Quality Problems

Friday August 25, 2006

With the recent plethora of news about quality problems and recalls that have been coming in from Toyota, here’s another one: they are slowing down development of upcoming models, in hopes that they can eliminate any possible problems.

This news comes in the middle of long list of bad news, including:

  1. Numerous steering-failure recalls
  2. Sienna liftgates that fall onto people
  3. Complaints about fit & finish on new Avalons and Camrys
  4. A scandal about them possibly hiding defects and recalls from the public
  5. A scandal involving sexual harassment

Of course, they reassure us that quality is still their top priority and that they will make sure tha there is no repeat of this recent flood of quality problems. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Yeidy Rodriguez permalink
    Thursday October 12, 2006 6:16 pm

    I have a 2004 Camry LE. It accelerated on its own causing a major accident. My air bags did not deploy. I found 15 complaints stating the exact problem on the Nationa Transportation and Safety Website. Toyota dealer and manufacturer are not taking any action.

  2. Friday February 23, 2007 6:53 pm

    And you guys wonder why I buy GM

  3. Rich permalink
    Monday August 27, 2007 8:31 am

    bought a new 2006 toyota corrolla, and I have had nothin but issuses. I have exhaust coming into the cabin of the vehicle while driving which was making me sick…. I file a lawsuit against toyota in Wisconsin under the lemmon law and cannot wait to get my money back. Toyota’s quality is crap! I would never buy another one again.

  4. Thursday June 19, 2008 4:16 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Bankable.

Leave a comment